History of the Department

Since its inception in 1951, Physics has been offered as the main subject in intermediate courses. Mr. R. Rajagopalan was the maiden head of the Department. Secondly, Mr. C. V. Sethunathan successfully headed the Department for nine years and contributed to its development. He was mainly responsible for establishing a full-fledged Physics Laboratory. The successive heads, Mr. T. N. Suryanarayanan and Mr. S. Sundaram developed the Physics Laboratory. In addition, they were instrumental in developing the college’s infrastructure, such as electric works, plumbing and logistics. Mr. C. Suryamoorthy, who worked here for seven years, went abroad, returned to Madurai Kamaraj University and worked in the Energy and Environment Science Department.

The subsequent heads, Mr P. Meenakshi Sundaram, Mr V. Ramachandran, Mr S. Sriraman, Mr P. Muneeswaran, Mr R. Chockalingam, and Mr T. R. Muralinarayanan contributed in higher order for the development of the Department. Dr. John Prince Soundranayagam now heads the Department, and he is the IQAC coordinator of the college, his contribution to acquiring the NIRF ranking is commendable. He is maintaining a unique Remote Sensing and GIS lab in the College. It is prestigious that he now coordinates ISRO/ IIRS programmes. The Department has conducted various workshops for College Students and Higher Secondary School Teachers as an extension activity.

Dr. T. Krishnan is awarded a Ph.D. in Physics by Punjab University, Chandigarh. He has also done a certificate course in Russian Language. All the faculty members have exposed themselves to refresher courses and strive hard to bridge the gap between Hr. Sec. Curriculum and Collegiate curriculum through innovative teaching methodologies and continually updating their teaching strategies. Dr.John Prince Soundranayagam and Dr. K. Amuthavalli joined the faculty in the late ’90s. Dr. M. Nagarajan migrated and joined the college during June 2005. Dr. S. Subramanian, Mrs. A.Infantia Daphne Fernando joined in February 2007 and Mrs.S. Subha joined later.

The Department of Physics has signed MoU with New Technology Coimbatore for conducting Mobile Phone Servicing training. In addition, the department offers IECD courses namely “Short-term Programme in Electrical Technician” for first year physics students and “Short-term Programme in Electronic Equipment Servicing and Maintenance” for second year students. Physics students have done an energy audit to enable the college to save energy.

Under Naan Mudhalvan scheme, “ Cambridge English Course”  is offered for I B.Sc.students. For II B.Sc. students the courses “Digital Training on Microsoft Office productivity suit offerings Beginners course, Digital Training on Microsoft Office Productivity suit offerings Advance course, and  Digital Training  on Cyber Security and Digital Safety Essentials” were offered. “Data Analytics with Tableau '' is offered for final year B.Sc. students.

GalleryVideo GalleryMedia